Co-Founder & CEO

Ed Scolding


Ed is a versatile musician with wide interests in education, composition and development.

Creativity is at the heat of much of Ed’s work in education, from half-day workshops to annual programme planning. Past workshop and education projects have ranged from two hours to one year, with outcomes including a dance, film and art show with live music composed and performed by students, a series of original songs performed in shows in London theatres, and string orchestra performances of student pieces.

As Assistant Head of Music at The Conservatoire from April 2014 to August 2015, Ed worked closely with Head of Music Benjamin Rous to develop areas such as the Saturday Music School including GCSE and A-level music and music technology courses, partnership projects, and strategic planning, including the programme of regular and holiday courses.

Music composed by Ed Scolding has been described as “subtle and polished” (Bachtrack) and “succinct, witty and apt” (Norwich Evening News), and performed by Exaudi, Music Theatre Wales, Ayre Flutes, London Sinfonietta and BBC National Orchestra of Wales, with extracts broadcast on BBC Radio 3. Ed is a keen collaborator, with projects including BRUT with choreographer Peter Groom for the Royal Philharmonic Society / Ideastap, and short opera Adrift with librettist Shaun Gardiner produced by Gestalt Arts. As a film composer, Ed’s soundtrack for Mile End was nominated for Best Feature Film Score at the Music And Sound Awards and published by Warner Music Group’s W Songs.

Ed is a Council member of the Incorporated Society of Musicians, the professional body for professional musicians, an examiner for Trinity College London (Rock & Pop syllabus), and works in development and marketing for award-winning composition company John Hardy Music and label Ffin Records.

Born in 1985, Ed graduated in 2008 from Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama with First Class Honours and completed MMus Composition (Distinction) and the LRAM teaching diploma at the Royal Academy of Music in 2011 with support from sources including Arts Council Wales, Seary Charitable Trust, Ismena Holland Award and Harvey Lohr Award.